Section 4(1)(b) disclosure under RTI Act,2005
Name of the Office- Odisha State Food Commission
Address- 9th Floor, Block A-1, Toshali Bhawan, Satyanagar, Bhubaneswar-751007
Functions: Odisha State Food Commission has been constituted under Section 16 of the National Food Security Act, 2013 vide Odisha Gazette Notification dated 15.03.2016. The State Commission’s mandate is to exercise the powers conferred on, and to perform the functions assigned to it under the Act and Rule.

The Odisha State Food Commission consists of-

(a) Chairperson

• Sri Pramod Kumar Merkap, IFS (Retd.) – w.e.f. 12.03.2020
(b) Member(s)
(1) Sri Digvijay Nath Padhi, w.e.f. 12.09.2019
(2) VACANT – from 14.09.2020 —–
(3) VACANT – from MAY 2016 —–
(4) VACANT – from MAY 2016 —–
(5) VACANT – from MAY 2016 —–
(c) Incumbency of Chairperson and Members of OSFC:
• Sri Ranglal Jamuda, I.A.S.,(Retd.), Chairperson ( w.e.f. 18.05.2016 to 17.05.2019)
• Sri Pramod Kumar Merkap, IFS(Retd.) – w.e.f. 12.03.2020
• Sri Manoj Kumar Panda, O.S.J.S(Retd.), Member ( w.e.f. 11.05.2016 to 10.05.2019)
• Dr. Sipra Mallick, Ex- M.L.A, Member( w.e.f. 10.05.2016 to 08.04.2019)
• Sri Digvijay Nath Padhi, Member- w.e.f. 12.09.2019
• Dr. Sipra Mallick, Ex- M.L.A, Member (w.e.f. 13.09.2019 (AN) to 13.09.2020)

The commission has a mandate to monitor and evaluate the implementation of the National Food Security Act (NFSA) in the State. Three schemes namely- Targeted Public Distribution System, Integrated Child Development Services and Mid Day Meal come within the purview of this Act.
There are mainly three major Functions of SFC:
a. inspect or cause to be inspected, the non-compliance of policy decisions of the Government relating to NFS Act;
b. organise regional camps to build awareness about benefits and entitlements under the Act and define measures for redressal of grievance;
c. Other functions in regards to Odisha State Food Security (TPDS) Rules, 2020.

The Commission have been empowered to,
a. monitor and evaluate the implementation of the schemes pursuant to the NFS Act, 2013;
b. either suo motu or on receipt of complaint inquire into violations of entitlements;
c. hear appeals against orders of the District Grievance Redressal Officer; and
d. give advice to the State Government, their agencies, autonomous bodies as well as non-governmental organisations involved in delivery of relevant services for the effective implementation of food and nutrition related schemes, to enable individuals to fully access their entitlements specified in this Act.

The Odisha State Food Commission Rules, 2016 enjoins upon the State Government to provide the Chairperson & Members with such officers like Member Secretary, Administrative Officer and employees as may be necessary for the efficient performance of their functions under this Rule and the salaries and allowances payable to and the terms and conditions of service of the officers and other employees appointed for the purpose of this Rule shall be such as may be prescribed.
Salaries, Allowances and other conditions of service: (1) The salaries and allowances payable to and other conditions of service of,— (a) the Chairperson shall be the same as that of the Chief Secretary to the Government; and (b) the other Members shall be the same as that of the lowest scale (fixed) for the Principal Secretary to the Government and be paid Dearness Allowance as admissible to the post of the Principal Secretary:
The posts so far created and filled in are as follows: